PGMS Announces 2017 Scholarship Winners

The Professional Grounds Management Society (PGMS) has announced its 2017 collegiate scholarship recipients. PGMS wishes the recipients well in the future. We hope the scholarship opens doors to additional opportunities in their pursuit of being a green industry professional.

Get to know this year’s recipients:

Peyton South of Kansas State University was sponsored by Dr. Cathie Lavis and received $4,000.00. His major is Golf Course Management and his life goal is to become a Golf Course Superintendent.

Steven Shavel of The Ohio State University was sponsored by Doug Knaup and received $2,500.00. Majoring in Biology/Sustainable Plant Systems, his life goal is to become a Superintendent of a Golf Course .

Jesse Mitchell of Mississippi State University was sponsored by Brandon Haley, CGM and was awarded $1,500.00. Landscape Contracting and Management is his major and his life goal is to change the living world and how people interact with it and each other, for the better.

Lauren Walz of Kansas State University was sponsored by Dr. Cathie Lavis and received $1,000.00. As a major in Landscape Horticulture her life goal is to be a business owner.

Steve LaMont of Walla Walla Community College was sponsored by Joe Kovolyan, CGM, CSFM and was awarded $1,000.00. His major is Landscape Contracting and Management and his life goal is to find a management position in the Turf Care Industry.

Each year the PGMS Scholarship Committee awards scholarships to students in horticulture or related fields. The awards committee looks for students who have solid grades and past or current employment in the green industry, involvement in the industry with apprentice or professional organizations as well as civic projects and outreach programs. The committee also looks for any personal development classes and involvement in sports or clubs. Students must be sponsored by a PGMS member. “The scholarship program is a wonderful way to recognize interns that work for you or college students you meet in the industry,” said Scholarship Committee Chairman Kent Bagnell.

Comments are closed.